Biography

Michael Schermons / Alias XUR

Certified Designer
1st Liquid Latex Couturier


From obstinateness to creativity...
Michael Schermons was born in a small romantic bavarian town in 1961. As a child he already developed a variety of artistic and inventive talents. Particular preferences were the fine arts, music and technology. Far from being an exemplary pupil, his obstinateness soon turned into a creative calling.

Fashion discovered...
In 1982 he began his studies of art history and philosophy in Regensburg. As part of a group of befriended artists he often paticipated in exhibitions and initiated performances. During this time he earned his living through the self-tought production of leather clothing. This is when he discovered his interest in fashion design. Even back then, his unusual designs revealed an individual handwriting.

Beautyful latex...
1984 he moved to the artist town Berlin to study idustrial design at the Acadey of the Arts (HDK). His focus was on fashion and product design. Here he became a student of world-class designers such as Joop, Gerd Hartung, F.C.Gundlach, Ulli Richter and Hans Röricht.
At a time when latex had no meaningful position in the fashion industry, Schermons realized the potential of this material for stylish clothing. He designed several latex collections that were presented at a fashion show to an international audience. XUR is born!
After his studies Schermons spent three years as a designer for renown fashion houses such as Monari.

Liquid clothes...
When Schermons heard about liquid latex for the first time in 1994, he knew what his next collection would look like: seamless, colorful and sexy! He developed a method in which latex clothing is created directly on the skin. The result can be reused as often as desired and fits like a second skin. When Schermons presented his first collection made of liquid latex, observers were asking themselves if the sewing machine still had a future.

A media-storm on the horizon...
Schermons' introduction of liquid latex to the world of fashion produced a literal media uproar. German magazines, radio and television couldn't get enough of him and his new concept of clothing. The thirst of the media was quenched only after two years of coverage and the fascination of the public continues until today.

Touring...
Schermons spent the following years extending his collection and introducing more of the public to the new method of clothing. He held numerous performances in Germany, Switzerland, Austria, France, Italy and Korea.

Latex art...
For Schermons liquid latex is more than a material. Its flexibility and simplicity keeps inspiring him to new creations. Many other artist have been inspired by Schermons' pioneering work and share his fascination for the material. Today there are hundreds of artists that have experienced this material and from the multitude of creations a new term emerged: latex art.

Biographie

Michael Schermons / Alias XUR

Diplom Designer
1st Liquid Latex Couturier


Von Eigensinnigkeit zur Kreativität...
Michael Schermons wurde 1961 in einer romantischen bayerischen Kleinstadt geboren. Schon in seiner Kindheit entwickelte er eine Vielfalt künstlerischer und erfinderischer Talente. Besondere Vorlieben waren die Bildenden Künste, Musik und Technik. Fern vom Musterschüler hatte sich seine jugentliche Eigensinnigkeit bald zu einer kreativen Berufung entwickelt.

Mode entdeckt...
1982 begann er das Studium der Kunstgeschichte und Philosophie in Regensburg. Als Mitglied einer Gruppe befreundeter Künstler war er häufig an Ausstellungen beteiligt und initiierte Performances. Während dieser Zeit verdiente er sich seinen Unterhalt durch die selbsterlernte Herstellung von Lederbekleidung. Hier entdeckte er sein Interesse an der Gestaltung von Mode. Schon damals zeugten seine ungewöhnlichen Designs von einer individuellen Handschrift.

Schönes Latex...
1984 zog er in die Künstlerstadt Berlin, um an der Hochschule der Künste (HdK) Industrial Design zu studieren. Seine Schwerpunkte waren Mode- und Produktdesign. Hier war er Schüler von Weltklassedesignern wie Joop, Gerd Hartung, F.C.Gundlach, Ulli Richter und Hans Röricht.
In einer Zeit, in der Latex für die Modebranche noch keine Bedeutung hatte, erkannte Michael Schermons das Potential dieses Mateials für stilvolle Bekleidung. Er entwarf mehrere Latexkollektionen, die bei Modenschauen vor internationalem Publikum vorgeführt wurden. XUR ist geboren!
Nach seinem Studium hat Schermons drei Jahre als Designer für namenhafte Modehäuser wie Monari entworfen.

Flüssige Kleider...
Als Schermons 1994 zum ersten Mal von flüssigem Latex hörte, wusste er wie seine nächste Kollektion aussehen würde: nahtlos, bunt und sexy! Er entwickelte einen Verfahren in dem Latexbekleidung direkt auf dem Körper angefertigt wird. Das Resultat kann beliebig oft wiederverwendet werden und sitzt wie eine zweite Haut. Als Schermons seine erste Kollektion aus flüssigem Latex präsentierte, fragten sich viele Betrachter, ob die Nähmaschine noch eine Zukunft hat.

Ein Mediensturm bahnt sich an...
Schermons Einführung von flüssigem Latex in die Mode führte zu einem regelrechten Medienaufruhr. Deutsche Zeitschriften, Radio und Fernsehen konnten nicht genug von ihm und seinem neuen Bekleidungskonzept sehen. Der Durst der Medien war erst nach mehreren Jahren gelöscht und die Faszination der Öffentlichkeit hält bis heute an.

Touring...
Schermons verbrachte die folgenden Jahre damit seine Kollektionen zu erweitern und das neue Bekleidungsverfahren der Öffentlichkeit nahezubringen. Er hatte zahlreiche Auftritte in Deutschland, Schweiz, Österreich, Frankreich, Italien und Korea.

Latexkunst...
Für Schermons ist flüssiger Latex mehr als ein Material. Seine Flexibilität und Einfachheit inspiriert ihn sändig zu neuen Kreationen. Viele andere Künstler wurden von Schermons Pionierarbeit inspiriert und teilen seine Faszination mit dem Material. Heute gibt es hunderte von Künstlern, die mit dem Material in Berührung gekommen sind und aus der Vielfalt der Kreationen entstand ein neuer Begriff: Latexkunst.